Pigments from a plant

pastel-des-teinturiers.jpg

Madder

Dyers' madder (Rubia tinctorum) is a perennial plant native to Southeastern Europe, West Asia and North Africa. It was very long cultivated in the South of France, especially in Vaucluse, in garancières, for the red dye provided by its rhizome root that can measure up to 80cm.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Indigo

Indigo blue is produced from indigo trees cultivated in colonial empires. The coloring substance is extracted from the leaf, fermented and hydrolyzed , to obtain a colorless substance which, when oxidized, gives an insoluble pigment , used in the fine arts . For dyeing, the colorless form is used, and the oxidation, giving the color, takes place on the fiber.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Gaude

Plant of the Resedaceae family, growing in Europe, formerly cultivated for use in dyeing fabrics yellow or in making a paint

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Guede

Plant from which we extract the famous blue pastel. Known since the Neolithic, it was the subject of intensive cultivation in the Middle Ages in France (Languedos and Normandy). Nevertheless it is widespread throughout Europe

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Dragon blood

The dragon tree (Dracaena draco, Dracaenaceae), a species endemic to Macaronesia, is a mythical tree in more than one way. First by its scientific name, doubly evocative of its legendary origin.

Indeed, Dracaena comes from the Greek drakaira, designating the female dragon, and draco is the Latin name for the dragon.

The dragon tree was born from the blood spilled by Ladon, the hundred-headed dragon, slain by Hercules during one of his famous labors. This monster was responsible for guarding the entrance to the Garden of the Hesperides, a place located on an archipelago considered by the Ancients to be the western “limit” of the world and which would correspond to the current Canary Islands.

But the basis of this fantastic origin and of this name comes from the peculiarities of its sap, a resin which oxidizes and dries in the open air, taking a blood red tint.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Eraser

Cambogia, cambogia resin or yellow Cambodia is a pigment yellow pulling the orange , produced from resin species from the family of Clusiaceae or Garciniées. It was also used in pharmacy . Soluble in alcohol

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Buckthorn

Bladder green, formerly called buckthorn green, is a dull green-yellow, widely used in watercolor , especially in landscapes. This color name is used mainly in the field of fine arts .

LOGO

Les pigments issus d'un végétal

Garance

La garance des teinturiers (Rubia tinctorum) est une plante vivace originaire du Sud-Est de l’Europe, d’Asie occidentale et d’Afrique du Nord. Elle fut très longtemps beaucoup cultivée dans le Sud de la France, notamment dans le Vaucluse, dans des garancières, pour la teinture rouge procurée par sa racine en rhizome pouvant mesurer jusqu’à 80cm. 

Indigo

Le bleu indigo est produit à partir des indigotiers cultivés dans les empires coloniaux.  On extrait la substance colorante de la feuille, fermentée et hydrolysée, pour obtenir une substance incolore qui, oxydée, donne un pigment insoluble, utilisé dans les beaux-arts. Pour la teinture, on utilise la forme incolore, et l'oxydation, donnant la couleur, s'effectue sur la fibre.

Gaude

Plante de la famille des Résédacées, poussant en Europe, autrefois cultivée pour servir à la teinture des tissus en jaune ou à la fabrication d'une peinture

Guède

Plante dont on extrait le fameux pastel bleu. Connue depuis le néolithique, elle a fait l’objet de cultures intensives au Moyan Âge en France (Languedos et Normandie). Néanmoins elle est répandue dans toute l’Europe

Sang de dragon

Le dragonnier (Dracaena draco, Dracaenaceae) , espèce endémique de la Macaronésie, est un arbre mythique à plus d’un titre. D’abord par son nom scientifique, doublement évocateur de son origine légendaire.

En effet, Dracaena est issu du grec drakaira, désignant le dragon femelle, et draco est le nom latin du dragon.

Le dragonnier serait né du sang répandu par Ladon, le dragon à cent têtes, terrassé par Hercule au cours de l’un de ses célèbres travaux. Ce monstre avait la charge de garder l’entrée du jardin des Hespérides, lieu situé sur un archipel considéré par les Anciens comme étant le « limite » ouest du monde et qui correspondrait aux actuelles îles Canaries.

Mais la base de cette origine fantastique et de ce nom vient des particularités de sa sève, une résine qui s’oxyde et sèche à l’air libre en prenant une teinte rouge sang.

Gomme gutte

La gomme-gutte, résine gutte ou jaune du Cambodge est un pigment jaune tirant sur l'orangé, produit à partir de résine d'espèces de la famille des Clusiaceae ou des Garciniées. Elle fut aussi utilisée en pharmacie. Solible dans l'alcool

Nerprun

Le vert de vessie, anciennement appelé vert de nerprun, est un vert-jaune terne, très utilisé à l'aquarelle, dans les paysages notamment. Ce nom de couleur est en usage principalement dans le domaine des beaux-arts.